Home Las Cruces Who's running for office in Doña Ana County?

Who's running for office in Doña Ana County?


Lucas Peerman, Las Cruces Sun-News
Published 10:27 a.m. MT Aug. 27, 2019 | Updated 10:46 a.m. MT Aug. 27, 2019


Las Cruces City Hall

Las Cruces Mayor Ken Miyagishima speaks during a Memorial Day weekend ceremony Sunday, May 26, 2019, at St. Joseph's Cemetery.

Buy Photo

Las Cruces Councilor Greg Smith listens during a special meeting of the city council on Thursday, April 25, 2019.

Buy Photo

Gina Ortega, who owns La Fiesta Bakery with her husband Ray, waits on a customer at the bakery on January 10, 2019.

Buy Photo

Dolores Lucero, a former Las Cruces City Councilor and 2011 mayoral candidate, addressed councilors at their special meeting on Thursday, April 25, 2019.

Buy Photo

Mike Tellez is a candidate for Las Cruces Mayor.

Jorge Sanchez, who would be 21 years old on inauguration day, hopes to make history as Las Cruces' youngest mayor.

Buy Photo

Doña Ana County Commissioner Isabella Solis listens as Kevin Bixby addresses commissioners during their meeting on Tuesday, August 13, 2019.

Buy Photo


Show Thumbnails

Show Captions

LAS CRUCES – Tuesday is filing day across New Mexico for candidates who plan to run for office in November. 

The Sun-News has reported throughout the last few months on residents who plan to plan to run for Las Cruces mayor and city council positions, but will they actually sign the paperwork to do so? We’ll find out today. Candidates have until 5 p.m. to file.

Candidate filing day for Doña Ana County local election races is today at the Government Center on Motel Blvd in Las Cruces from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm. #nmpol#DACVotes 🇺🇸 pic.twitter.com/gcc5zDKhIe

— Lindsey Bachman 🇺🇸 (@bachbanter) August 27, 2019

In Doña Ana County, the Nov. 5 election marks a number of “firsts.”

For the first time, elections for school districts, community college districts, flood control districts, special zoning districts, soil and water conservation districts, and water and sanitation districts will be on the November ballot. In 2022, conservancy districts will be added to the consolidated elections

Also, the city of Las Cruces is delegating the responsibility for running its elections to the Doña Ana County Clerk’s Office for the first time. Until now, the county clerk’s office has worked with the city clerk’s office on the logistics of running city elections, like providing voting machines, but the city clerk’s office was ultimately responsible for hosting them. The county clerk also will be tasked with choosing polling places.

And in the races for Las Cruces mayor, municipal judge and city council, voters will be able to “rank” their choices. Stay tuned for more reporting on ranked-choice voting — how it works and what it might mean for this election. Also, the county clerk will host an information session on ranked-choice voting from 5 to 6:30 p.m. Wednesday, Sept. 4, at Thomas Branigan Memorial Library, 200 E. Picacho Ave.

We’ll be updating this list of Doña Ana County candidates throughout the day. Last update: 10:44 a.m.

Las Cruces Mayor

Las Cruces Council District 1

  • Kasandra Gandara

Las Cruces Council District 2

Las Cruces Council District 4

  • Jeffrey R. Silva

Hatch Trustee Position 1

  • Robert D. Martinez

Sunland Park Council District 5

  • Maria M. Burciaga

Hatch Valley School Board Position 2

  • Merlinda Hinojos

Hatch Valley School Board Position 3

  • Lupe M. Castillo

Gadsden Independent School District 4

  • Daniel Castillo

Doña Ana Soil and Water Supervisor 1

  • Kurt SJ Anderson
  • Jerry Guy Schickedanz

Doña Ana Soil and Water Supervisor 5

  • Christoper Kost Podruchny Cardenas

Anthony Water and Sanitation Board 

  • Veronica Rodriguez

Lower Rio Grande Public Water Works Authority

  • Michael Lee McMullen

Also: The New Mexico Secretary of State has a list of all candidates who file today.

Read or Share this story: https://www.lcsun-news.com/story/news/politics/elections/2019/08/27/whos-running-office-dona-ana-county/2130339001/


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here